Sutherland Service Award

Recommendation Form & Deadline

Recommendations can be made at any time using the Recommendation Form below. Please download and complete the form below and submit it electronically to with the subject title Sutherland Service Award.


ULFA’s Sutherland Service Award was established to recognize a member that provides and/or has provided exceptional service to the Members of the University of Lethbridge Faculty Association (ULFA). In other words, a person who has established a lengthy and successful period of service to the faculty association … above what is expected.

The expectation is that this is not an annual award (unless merited), rather an award that serves to recognize someone that truly goes above and beyond in support of the academic staff of the University of Lethbridge. This award is a token of our sincere appreciation for those that truly go above and beyond, an acknowledgement and appreciation for a lengthy period of distinguished service.

This award is granted by ULFA upon receipt of a recommendation package completed and submitted by an ULFA Member(s).

The Selection Committee, which consists of the ULFA Executive and ULFA’s Executive Officer or Director, will select the recipient of the award after reviewing the recommendations received. In making their decision, the Selection Committee, will take into account such factors as the individual’s service record, as well as other aspects of the individual’s professional life. The work of the Selection Committee is dependent on the quality and completeness of the information it receives in the recommendation package. The decision of the Selection Committee is final.

Criteria for the Award

Recipients of the award will:

a) Be announced at one of ULFA’s General Meetings, recognized in ULFA’s Quarterly Newsletter, on the ULFA website and pertinent social media platforms.

b) Receive a certificate of recognition from ULFA.

c) Receive a monetary award of $1000.

Past Recipients of the Sutherland Service Award:

Ken Vos (2024)

Joy Morris (2023)

Bryson Brown(2022)