Bargaining Resource Committee

Terms of Reference

1. The Bargaining Resource Committee is an investigative, deliberative and advisory body whose proper sphere of action includes all matters relating to collective bargaining of the terms and conditions of employment of the membership, including the following tasks:

a. To seek advice from the Members in all University constituencies and appropriate sources regarding changes to the collective agreement;
b. To assist in identifying the members of the Negotiating Team;
c. To advise the Negotiating Team before, during, and after negotiations regarding:

i. The initial ULFA proposal;
ii. A general response to the Board proposal including both substance and strategy; and
iii. To prepare a written report to assist negotiations next bargaining round;

d. To advise the Executive Committee before, during, and after negotiations, and to recommend acceptance or rejection of the final package;
e. To present the final package to the membership and to recommend acceptance or rejection.

2. For matters negotiated under the collective agreement, the Committee shall:

a. Recommend to the Executive a three-person Negotiating Team. The members of the negotiating team need not be members of the Committee. Full consideration should be given to the continuity of membership, and, to that end, two of the three members should have experience on the ULFA’s standing committees and/or with collective bargaining.
b. Recommend to the Executive Committee an opening position and identify priorities and general strategy.

 

Committee Members

Past Chair:
Joy Morris, Math & Computer Science
Phone: (403) 329-4100
Term: 2019-2021
e-mail: joy.morris@uleth.ca

Chair:
Rob Sutherland, Neuroscience
Phone: (403) 394-3987
Term: 2019 – 2021 
e-mail: BRCchair@ulfa.ca 

Arts & Science
John Zhang, Math & Computer Science
Phone: (403) 329-5238
Term: 2020 – 2022
e-mail: john.zhang@uleth.ca

Arts & Science:
Adam Carter, English
Phone: (403) 329-2375
Term: 2020 – 2022
e-mail: a.carter@uleth.ca

Arts & Science:
Locke Spencer, Physics & Astronomy
Phone: (403) 332-4612
Term: 2020 – 2022
e-mail: locke.spencer@uleth.ca

Professional Faculty:
Janet Youngdahl, Fine Arts/Music
Phone: (403) 332 – 2745
Term: 2019 – 2021
e-mail: janet.youngdahl@uleth.ca

Librarians:
David Scott, Library
Phone: (403) 329-5178
Term 2019-2021
e-mail: david.scott@uleth.ca

Instructor / Academic Assistant:
Michael Madore, Business
Phone: (403) 329-2439
Term: 2020 – 2022
e-mail: michael.madore@uleth.ca

Arts & Science
Chad Povey, Physics
Phone: (403) 329- 2359
Term: 2020-2022
e-mail: chad.povey@uleth.ca

Pro. Faculty
Dawn McBride, Education
Phone: (403) 317-2877
Term: 2020-2022
e-mail: dawn.mcbride@uleth.ca